Birthday Planning

All right, so my son’s birthday really isn’t until November. Since he was born almost smack-dab in the middle of the month, we have some versatility when it comes to birthday planning. Last year’s was a Thanksgiving theme. This year, we’re going Halloween.

 

I started working on this jack-o-lantern pinata. I’m not entirely sure how we’re going to hang it. I’m trying to keep this party within reasonable limits. I’m thinking we’re going to fill it with gummy snacks, granola bars, stickers, maybe small jars of play-dough and a few other treats. Because straight-up chocolate adds up fast!Pinata

I tracked down a few other cute ideas. There’s this e-vite generator which is making things easier. Why send paper invitations to family anymore? We’re all on Facebook!

I also found this simple punch recipe. Guaranteed kid-favorite flavors, plus the spooky touch of a frozen ice hand. Who WOULDN’T love that?

And everybody is crazy about some bone-shaped breadsticks and pasta tinted with food coloring for extra creepiness. I love that mozzarella balls and olives are used to create the eye effect!

Everyone’s definitely happy about dirt cups and pie pumpkins hollowed out for holding dips and sauces (like my hot spinach and artichoke dip from Food Network).

A witch ring toss and pin-the-boo-on-the-ghost round it off for a toddler’s Halloween birthday party. With some classic kids’ Halloween movies and beats going, it’s sure to be a winner.

But party planning aside, it’s so hard to believe that my little boy is going to be 2 years old! It seems like just yesterday I was gazing down at somebody who looked like this: IMG_20141117_075842097

Now he’s running everywhere, yelling, saying “Yes,” “Yeah,” or “Yesh,” to everything, and tormenting the cat and bird. My, how time flies.

 

Leave a Reply

